Skip to main content

Wildlife Ecology and Conservation department

Wildlife Ecology and Conservation department

Wildlife Ecology and Conservation Faculty

Department Faculty | Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty | Emeritus Faculty

Department Faculty

Acevedo, Miguel A.
Assistant Professor
352-846-0575
Building 866, Room 0111
maacevedo@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.ecosigmasquared.com/
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative Population Ecology, Wildlife Disease Ecology, Spatial Ecology, and Theoretical Ecology
Austin, James D.
Associate Professor
352-846-0646
Building 116 Room 007
austinj@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://austinlabuf.com/
Field of Study/Research: Conservation genetics, Phylogeography, Phylogenetics
Baiser, Benjamin
Assistant Professor
352-392-1947
Building 116
bbaiser@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.baiserlab.com/
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative Ecology, Community Ecology, Ecological Networks, and Macroecology
Basille, Mathieu
Assistant Professor
Landscape Ecology
Ft Lauderdale Research and Education Center
basille@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ase-research.org/basille/
Field of Study/Research: Landscape Ecology
Blake, John
Professor
352-846-0591
Building 866 Room 110
john.blake@ufl.edu
Homepage: John Blake Faculty Page
Boughton, Raoul
Assistant Professor
Rangeland Scientist - Wildlife
863-735-1314 ext. 216
Range Cattle Research and Education Center
rboughton@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://rcrec-ona.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty-directory/raoul-boughton/
Branch, Lyn
Professor
Director, Southern Cone Conservation Leadership Initiative
352-846-0564
Room 14 Building 150
branchl@ufl.edu
Homepage: Lyn Branch Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and conservation of mammals, reserve design and evaluation, conservation planning, application of landscape ecology and behavioral ecology in conservation, and natural resource management and conservation in Latin America
Bruna, Emilio
Associate Professor
352-846-0634
Building 866
embruna@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://brunalab.org/
Field of Study/Research: Tropical conservation, plant ecology, demographic modelling, plant-animal interactions, and mutualisms
Campos Krauer, Juan
Assistant Professor
Wildlife Extension Veterinarian
352-294-4327
jmcampos@ufl.edu
Homepage: Juan Campos Krauer Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Animal health, disease ecology, wildlife ecology and conservation
Carthy, Ray
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Assistant Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
352-846-0545
Building 810
carthyr@ufl.edu
Homepage: Ray Carthy Faculty Page
Ernest, Morgan
Associate Professor
352-294-2082
Building 150 Rm 2
skmorgane@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ernestlab.weecology.org/
Fletcher, Robert
Professor
352-846-0632
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
robert.fletcher@ufl.edu
Homepage: https://www.fletcherlab.com/
Field of Study/Research: Landscape and Spatial Ecology, Animal Behavior, Quantitative Biology, Population and Community Ecology, Ornithology
Frederick, Peter
Research Professor
Information Technology Coordinator
352-846-0565
368 Newins-Ziegler Hall
pfred@ufl.edu
Homepage: Peter Frederick Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Wetlands Ecology, Avian Behavior
Matt HallettHallett, Matt
Adjunct Instructor
352-234-2732
307A Newins-Ziegler Hall
mhallett2320@ufl.edu
Hellgren, Eric C.
Professor and Chair
352-846-0552
115 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hellgren@ufl.edu
Homepage: Eric Hellgren Faculty Page
Hostetler, Mark
Professor
352-846-0568
215 Newins-Ziegler Hall
hostetm@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://hostetlerlab.weebly.com/
Field of Study/Research: Urban ecology and environmental design, sustainable development, urban wildlife, resource efficient communities
Hull, Vanessa
Assistant Professor
352-846-0638
310 Newins-Ziegler Hall
vhull@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.globalhumanwildlifelab.com
Field of Study/Research: Large mammal ecology and conservation, coupled human and natural systems, human-wildlife conflict and coexistence, natural resource management
Jacobson, Susan
Professor Emeritus
Director, Program for Studies in Tropical Conservation
International Affairs Coordinator
352-846-0562
307A Newins-Ziegler Hall
jacobson@ufl.edu
Homepage: Susan Jacobson Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Environmental communications, human dimensions of wildlife conservation
Johnson, Steve
Associate Professor
352-846-0557
216 Newins-Ziegler Hall
tadpole@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://ufwildlife.ifas.ufl.edu/
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and management of amphibians and reptiles, invasive vertebrate ecology
Marcus LashleyLashley, Marcus
Assistant Professor
352-846-0870
322 Newins-Ziegler Hall
marcus.lashley@ufl.edu
Loiselle, Bette
Professor
Director Tropical Conservation & Development
352-846-0592
Building 866 Room 109
loiselleb@ufl.edu
Homepage: Bette Loiselle Faculty Page
Main, Martin
Professor
Building 87 Rm 7
352-846-0552
mmain@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Behavioral ecology, habitat management, and environmental education
Mazzotti, Frank
Professor
Director, Center for Natural Resources - South FL
954-577-6300
fjma@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://crocdoc.ifas.ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Conservation planning, endangered species
McCleery, Robert
Associate Professor
352-846-0566
314 Newins-Ziegler Hall
ramccleery@ufl.edu
Homepage: Bob McCleery Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Conservation and Ecology of Mammals, Urban Ecology, Wildlife Management
Miller, Deborah
Professor
850-983-2632
WFREC
dlmi@ufl.edu
Homepage: Debbie Miller Faculty Page
Moulton, Mike
Associate Professor
352-846-0571
318 Newins-Ziegler Hall
moultonm@ufl.edu
Homepage: Mike Moulton Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Introduced vertebrates, synanthropy
Ober, Holly K.
Associate Professor
North Florida Research and Education Center
850-875-7150
holly.ober@ufl.edu
Homepage: Holly Ober Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Forest ecology, habitat management
Oli, Madan
Professor
352-846-0561
342 Newins-Ziegler Hall
olim@ufl.edu
Homepage: Madan Oli Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, population modeling, life-history, wildlife ecology and management
Payne, Jack M.
Professor
Senior Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources
352-392-1971
1008 McCarty Hall
jackpayne@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Management on Private Lands, Wetland and Waterfowl Ecology, University and NGO Administration
Pienaar, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor
352-846-0630
316 Newins-Ziegler Hall
efpienaar@ufl.edu
Homepage: Elizabeth Pienaar Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Environmental Economics, Human Dimensions of Wildlife
Pine, Bill
Professor
352-273-3650
110 Newins-Ziegler Hall
billpine@ufl.edu
Homepage: Bill Pine Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Quantitative ecology, aquatic ecology, and adaptive management
Powell, Abby
Courtesy Professor
Unit Leader, Florida Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit
352-846-0543
Building 810
abbypowell@ufl.edu
Homepage: Abby Powell Faculty Page
Romagosa, Christina
Assistant Research Professor
352-273-3996
312 Newins-Ziegler Hall
cmromagosa@ufl.edu
Homepage: https://sites.google.com/site/christinamromagosa/
Field of Study/Research: Biological invasions, wildlife trade
Scheffers, Brett
Assistant Professor
352-846-0570
215 Newins-Ziegler Hall
brett.scheffers@ufl.edu
Homepage: Brett Scheffers Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Tropical Ecology and Conservation, Urban Ecology, Global Change Biology, Ecophysiology
Kathryn E. Sieving faculty photoSieving, Katie
Professor (University Term Professor 2018-22)
Graduate Coordinator
352-846-0569
320 Newins-Ziegler Hall
chucao@ufl.edu
Homepage: Katie Sieving Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Birds; Behavioral Landscape Ecology and Conservation; Research Design
White, Ethan
Associate Professor
352-294-2081
Building 150 Rm 1
ethanwhite@ufl.edu
Homepage: http://whitelab.weecology.org/
Field of Study/Research: Data-Intensive Ecology, Ecological Forecasting, Computational Ecology, Quantitative Ecology, Macroecology
Wisely, Samantha
Professor
University Term Professor
University Foundation Research Professor
352-846-0645
Building 116 Room 001C
wisely@ufl.edu
Homepage: Samantha Wisely Faculty Page
Field of Study/Research: Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology

Affiliate and Courtesy Faculty

Avery, Michael L.
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-375-2229
Michael.L.Avery@aphis.usda.gov
Field of Study/Research: Vulture management, avian crop pests
Borkhataria, Rena
Courtesy Research Assistant Professor
Director and National Coordinator, Doris Duke Conservation Scholars Program Collaborative
561-993-1599
rrbork@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife Ecology and Conservation
Campbell, Todd
Courtesy Assistant Professor
University of Tampa
813-253-3333 ext. 3124
tcampbell@ut.edu
Homepage: http://utweb.ut.edu/hosted/faculty/tcampbell/
Field of Study/Research: Ecology and management of introduced and invasive herpetofauna
Didier, Karl
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Wildlife Conservation Society
352-214-0954
heraldo@umarama.ufu.br
De Vasconcelos, Heraldo
Courtesy Associate Professor
kdidier@wcs.org
Goswami, Varun
Courtesy Assistant Research Scientist
vgoswami@ufl.edu
Hart, Kristen
Courtesy Research Associate Scientist
kristen_hart@usgs.gov
Johnson, Fred
Courtesy Associate Professor
fjohn@ufl.edu
Karanth, Ullas
Courtesy Professor
ukaranth@gmail.com
Kirkman, Katherine
Courtesy Associate Professor
Conservation Biology, Joseph W. Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
kkirkman@jonesctr.org
Kitchens, Wiley
Courtesy Professor
kitchensw@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Restoration ecology
Krysko, Kenney
Affiliate Senior Biological Scientist
Senior Biological Scientist, Florida Museum of Natural History
352-392-1721 x479
kenneyk@flmnh.ufl.edu
Homepage: http://www.flmnh.ufl.edu/herpetology/kk/kkresearch.htm
Martin, Julien
Courtesy Assistant Professor
julienm@ufl.edu
Meyer, Ken
Courtesy Associate Professor
352-335-4151
meyer@arcinst.org
Miller, Karl
Courtesy Associate Professor
Karl.Miller@MyFWC.com
Monadjem, Ara
Courtesy Associate Professor
University of Swaziland
ara@uniswa.sz
Field of Study/Research: Biodiversity surveys; conservation ecology of raptors; ecology and systematics of small mammals
Nichols, Jim
Courtesy Associate Professor
301-497-5660
jim_nichols@nbs.gov
Nickerson, Max
Affiliate Professor
352-392-1721
maxn@flmnh.ufl.edu
Onorato, David
Courtesy Assistant Professor
david.onorato@myfwc.com
Percival, Franklin
Courtesy Associate Professor
percivaf@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wetland wildlife ecology and conservation
Reed, Robert
Courtesy Research Associate Scientist
Rice, Kenneth
Courtesy Assistant Professor
FL Caribbean Science Center - UF Field Station
954-577-6305
ken_g_rice@usgs.gov
Rivas Torres, Gonzalo Francisco
Courtesy Assistant Professor
grivas13@ufl.edu
Robertson, Kevin M.
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Fire Ecology Research Scientist
850-893-4153 x 254
krobertson@ttrs.org
Homepage: http://www.talltimbers.org/fireecology.html
Robinson, Scott
Affiliate Professor
Ordway Eminent Scholar of Ecosystem Conservation
352-392-1721 ext 509
srobinson@flmh.ufl.edu
Ross, Perran
Associate Scientist
352-392-7137
pross@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Conservation biology, conflict mitigation and stakeholder input, crocodilian and sea turtle ecology, international trade and sustainable use
Smith, Lora L.
Courtesy Associate Scientist
Jones Ecological Research Center
229-734-4706
lora.smith@jonesctr.org
Steadman,David
Affiliate Curator
dws@flmnh.ufl.edu
Terhune, Theron
Courtesy Assistant Professor
Waltzek, Thomas
Courtesy Assistant Professor
tbwaltzek@ufl.edu
Wells, Randall
Courtesy Professor
randallswells@ufl.edu
 

Emeritus Faculty

Labisky, Ron
Emeritus Professor
labiskyr@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population ecology, space and habitat use, predator-prey interactions
Sunquist, Mel
Emeritus Professor
sunquist@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Carnivores, natural history, ecology, conservation
Tanner, George
Emeritus Professor
tannerg@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Wildlife habitat management, restoration ecology
Werner, Patricia A.
Emeritus Professor
+61 (2) 6247-7714
wernerpa@ufl.edu
Field of Study/Research: Population and community ecology; savanna ecology; role of fire in natural systems; Australian biodiversity and climate change