CHeRI - Staff

Director | Affiliate Scientists | Post-Doctoral Researchers | Students | Staff

Who We Are: We are a collective of scientists, veterinarians, entomologists and extension specialists from the University of Florida who work to increase health outcomes for captive deer throughout Florida.

Director

Dr. Samantha Wisely

Associate Professor

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

352-846-0645

wisely@ufl.edu

https://wec.ifas.ufl.edu/people/wec-faculty/samantha-wisely/

Field of Study/Research: Disease ecology, molecular ecology, biogeography, wildlife biology



Affiliate Scientists

Dr. Jason K. Blackburn

Associate Professor

Department of Geography

352-294-7501

jkblackburn@ufl.edu

@JasonKBlackburn

http://geog.ufl.edu/people/faculty/blackburn/

Field of Study/Research: Zoonotic diseases, wildlife diseases, disease transmission pathways, ecological niche modeling, spatio-temporal modeling of epidemiology, disease ecology, anthrax transmission dynamics



Dr. Nathan Burkett-Cadena

Assistant Professor

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

772-778-7200 ext. 141

nburkettcadena@ufl.edu

https://fmel.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty/n-burkett-cadena/

Field of Study/Research: Host preference of blood-feeding insects, transmission ecology of arboviruses, pathogen surveillance



Dr. Juan Campos

Wildlife Extension Veterinarian

Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences and Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

jmcampos@ufl.edu

https://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/juan-manuel-campos-krauer/

Field of Study/Research: Extension and outreach programming to deer farmers in Florida





Dr. John Lednicky

Associate Professor

Department of Environmental & Global Health

352-273-9204

jlednicky@phhp.ufl.edu

http://egh.phhp.ufl.edu/personnel/faculty-2/primary-faculty/john-lednicky-phd/>

Field of Study/Research: Microbiology, virology



Dr. Nicole Stacy

Clinical Assistant Professor

Department of Aquatic Animal Health and Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

352-294-4093

stacyn@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/nicole-stacy/

Field of Study/Research: clinical pathology of exotic species, especially aquatic species and reptiles, environmental toxicology and wildlife conservation



Dr. Kuttichantran Subramaniam

Research Assistant Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-215-7278

kuttichantran@ufl.edu

https://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/kuttichantran-subramaniam/

Field of Study/Research: Emerging Aquatic Animal Viruses (EAAVs)





Dr. Heather Walden

Assistant Professor

Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathology

352-294-4125

hdstockdale@ufl.edu

http://www.vetmed.ufl.edu/about-the-college/faculty-directory/heather-walden/

Field of Study/Research: parasites of importance to veterinary medicine, the relationships between parasite and host and resulting pathogenesis of disease, parasitic infections or infestations



Dr. Marcelo Wallau

Assistant Professor- Forages Extension Specialist

Agronomy Department

352-260-2254

mwallau@ufl.edu

http://agronomy.ifas.ufl.edu/faculty/marcelo-wallau/

Field of Study/Research: Forage production and management



Post-Doctoral Researchers

Dr. Agustin IE Quaglia

Postdoctoral Associate

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

aquaglia@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Culicoides assemblages change at time and habitat scale, the way midges are using host as food resource







Dr. Pedro Viadanna

Postdoctoral Associate

Department of Infectious Diseases and Immunology

pedro@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Discovery and characterization of infectious diseases impacting wildlife and aquatic mammals







Students

An-Chi Cheng

Graduate Student

Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences

anchicheng@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Microbial ecology, Farmed and wild deer diseases in Florida, Antimicrobial resistance, Wildlife epidemiology





Daniel Tuzzolino

Graduate Student

Department of Entomology

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

dtuzzolino1@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Vector-host interactions, disease ecology, and Culicoides as vectors of disease



Savannah Grace

Graduate Student

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

savannah.grace@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Wildlife disease ecology and molecular ecology








Staff

Julia Loeb

Biologicial Scientist

Department of Environmental & Global Health

jloeb@phhp.ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Virology






Hilda Lynn

Laboratory Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

hclynn@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Midge Identification






Jeremy Orange

Biological Scientist

Department of Geography

jporange@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Spatial Epidemiology and Ecology







Diana Rodas

Research Technician

Department of Veterinary Medicine

drodas@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Necropsies, infectious and zoonotic diseases of animals







Tanise Stenn

Molecular Biology Lab Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

772-778-7200 ext. 161

tanise@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Molecular biology and host preference of blood-meal





Yasmin Tavares

Laboratory Technician

Florida Medical Entomology Laboratory

yasmintavares@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Epidemiology of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases






Zoe White

Biological Scientist

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

zseganish@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Microbiome assay and analysis






Kristen Wilson

Biological Scientist

Department of Wildlife Ecology and Conservation

knwilson@ufl.edu

Field of Study/Research: Epidemiology of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases, disease ecology using a One Health approach